~Outside of college work~

The image on the left is the original image and the one on the right is the finished edit of the image. To create the image on the right the first thing I did was remove the background using  the magic wand tool and neatening it up with the eraser around the edges. I then added in an off-white background so I had an idea of how the colours of the image looked next to it. I then got the paint brush and set the layer type to colour and drew over my subjects face and turned down the opacity so it wasn’t too strong a white colour. I then did the same but with black around the roses which weren’t 100 black in colour and still had a yellow colour cast on, I also did the same thing with the eyes but with purple. To make the background look less plain looking I added in a picture of Victorian looking wall paper and use the white background I had already created to wash out the colour, there was also a white outline around my subject. I drew around the outside of the subject and then used Gaussian blur and lowered to opacity to allow it to blend.

The image on the left is the original image and the one of the right is the finished edit. To create the the image on the right I used the magic wand tool to select large areas of the background and deleted them before tidying up to the edged/ remains of the background with the eraser. I then added in an off white background so I could see how the colours of the image looked naturally. I used the paint brush too and set the layer type to colour and went over the subjects skin to make it appear more washed out and paler and lowered the opacity so that the white didn’t look too unnatural. I did the same to the eyes with a deeper purple colour and did a darker blue colour in the hair. I added in a blue victorian looking wallpaper and put that under the white layer and turned the opacity on the white layer to fade out the bright blue of the wallpaper. I added a faded dark purple outline around the subject and used gaussian blur to blend it out just to help separate the subject from the background a  little more.

Leave a Reply

