Darth Revan – Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic

Revan is a fictional character in BioWare’s Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic video game. The character may be either male or female, though Revan is canonically male and follows the game’s light-side path. The player’s choice of a male or female Revan changes only which characters the player character can fall in love with (as well as slightly altering the way some characters act towards the player). Revan’s story is further explored in Drew Karpyshyn’s 2011 novella Star Wars: The Old Republic: Revan. The book details the events of Revan’s life after the events of Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic, in which Revan attempts to recover his lost memories from the period of the Mandalorian Wars and from his and Malak’s travels to discover the Sith empire. (Source)

In quite a few of the images I saw when I googled Darth Revan the images had a warm orange-purple tint to them so I tried to achieve a similar look in my images.
Example 1

Example 2

Example 3

To create the final image on the right I changed the colour balance on the mid tones, highlights and shadows to change the background, I then used the eraser to erase the colour cast on my subject. I then duplicated the original layer so I could change the colour balance again to make the outfit have a warmer colour cast on it. To create the lightsaber I used the brush tool to create a red line, I then duplicated the layer and increased the lightness to change it to white and then used Gaussian Blur, I then did the same with the red layer but increased the amount of blur and then duplicated the layer to increase how bright the red came through.

To create the image on the right I did the same as before, changing the colour balance on the image to add a colour cast to the background and then using the eraser over my subject before duplicating the original image again and changing the colour balance on my subject to make her outfit appear to have a purple-red cast. The lightsaber was created the same was as the first image, using the brush too and then gaussian blur and layering up the layers to increase/decrease the opacity.

Leave a Reply

